Gifts in the Giving

It’s December. That hurried, yet celebratory time for family, giving, and receiving. We honor this month in a myriad of love, thoughts and actions. Christmas,Yuletide, Noel, Hanukkah and Festival of Lights, to name a few. However we celebrate, memories are likely to be readied, shared, and treasured. Over and over, this season of giving has accomplished that for me. 

First and foremost are those with my ever-present family of seven siblings. As children, we were poor in finances. Regardless of the circumstances, however, we put to use our rich spirited imaginations and giving to each other. Homemade or some trinket that cost a dime or two were often exchanged and treasured. A new pencil, candy cane, or perhaps a fresh orange. The best of times.

Years have passed since those childhood rememberings, however, our holiday lovefests have not.  With a vow of “No gifts other than a ‘White Elephant”’ (either homemade or less than $10.00 in value), we find more memories in our annual feasting and jabberfests. Sibs are now accompanied with children, grands, and a friend or three.  All in good fun, we keep our spirited love well nurtured. 

I would be amiss if I didn’t include my holiday memories while teaching. One of the most vivid of thoughts occurred during my first year. Nineteen young teens of varying disabilities had become my charge. Combine these youths with individual personalities and unpredictable hormone levels, anything was possible.  In addition, a full moon, and/or change in weather patterns aided and abetted in making our class of gaga fun. Upcoming holiday jitters made for the perfect scene of energized anxiety.

The usual simple construction paper chains of red and green adorned our room. Chatter of Christmas hopes consumed these teens. Hunting gear, cassette recorders, and the coolest of jeans were requested as a few of them mentioned “Santa”. Decorum and conversations were controlled and limited in an effort to keep a lid on frenzy. 

I reminded students that I did not desire gifts.  Repeatedly stressing, “No gifts, please. I ask for nothing.  All of you have shown positive efforts with your classwork and personal growth. That is your gift to me!” (After all, I did not become a teacher to receive boxes of Whitman’s Sampler, essence of Musk, or an endless supply of hand lotion.)

My efforts to convince them otherwise were not taken seriously. First and foremost was sweet, shy, Babbette. Her momma had recently died and she was in tight family love with her father and two older sisters.  A few days short of holiday break, she presented me with a small, hand wrapped bottle. I graciously accepted her act of love as I opened the gift.

Inside was a well-worn bottle of Avon’s Topaz. Out of the box, complete with a chip in the cap, I was aware of this gift’s origin. Broadly smiling, Babs could not contain her excitement. 

“I hope you like the perfume Mrs. S. It was my mom’s favorite. She used some of it before she died, but I just filled the bottle with water, so you couldn’t tell.”  

Classic giving of love and honesty! I was touched by Babbette’s sincerity and respect for her momma and me. I rose from my chair, opened my arms for a hug, and Babs took to me like a kitten. I was truly smitten.

Next with her holiday cheer was sophomore, Anne Marie. She proudly emphasized, “Mrs. S. I never gave one teacher a Christmas gift. You are my first. My mom and dad love you so much and wanted you to have this.”  Hiding her smirk, she presented a brown paper sack.  

As she pulled out the brightly wrapped and ribboned gift, I began to speculate. Its elongated boxish shape had me awonder. Afterall, this family owned a local party store and libations were a popular holiday item. I whispered to self,  “Do not go there. It’s chocolate covered cherries.”

Once again, gratefully thanking Anne Marie, I gently tugged at the wrapping. To my great surprise and awe, I gulped, “Oh my!”

Before my 19 cherubs, a 750ml bottle of Drambuie Liqueur had been revealed!  Appropriate oohs and aahs from the girls were in equal competition to the boys’ hopeful imaginations. No one commented except, of course, Miss Anne.

“My Dad, especially wanted you to have this Mrs. S. It’s so expensive and he only gives this to his best friends. We have Drambuie with my family every Christmas too.  My parents think of you as family. They love you Mrs. S.”

Gift of gifts! I was in a no-win situation. A Catch-22 of sorts. A most loving gift of thankfulness, yet one filled with illegalities in the public school, with minors nonetheless!  Ever polite, I thanked Anne Marie and her family. Making quick of rewrapping, I bagged up my endowment and placed it snugly in the locked closet. 

Just like yesterday, I continue to recall the real love of my family and many students. These priceless giving and receiving moments continue to leave me warm and appreciative. I ask for nothing more than their personal success with life. As they soak up self love and pride, I have received so much more. 

Lessons Learned:

Grateful, I ask for nothing more. In family and profession, I have had more days of gratefulness and satisfaction than heartache and pain. I continue to be ever blessed! 

Children are truly God’s greatest gift. Taken from Psalms 127:3, my life with children have been gifts that keep giving. Large, small, intimate, and silly. I ask for nothing more.

May you find gratefulness and love in this season of giving and receiving.

And as always, Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Gifts in the Giving

Leave a comment