Finding the “Ahh”

Growing up, I seldom accepted or practiced reading for pleasure. Books were not aplenty in our home. I do not recall our town as having a public library. Other than a few Golden Books, a large collection of fairy tales (thank you, Aunt Pat), or any reads secured from the school library, reading was limited. 

Pleasure reading just did not exist. Idle time was devoted to farm chores, household duties, sibling care and school. Momma and Daddy subscribed to The Detroit Free Press, a few farm magazines and the J.C. Penney catalog. It was there I was introduced to comic strips, horoscopes, delicious recipes, and shopping by mail. My world expanded with the mindful thoughts of Ann Landers, Erma Bombeck, professional sports and the costs of shipping and handling. I read. I gleaned. I began to fill my thinker bucket. New-found knowledge and I were becoming one. 

The summer of 1962 ushered in the Bookmobile. Twice a month, this monstrous, feeble green library on wheels, took its afternoon residence in the nearby town of Delwin. Piled in the back of the Chevy truck, Momma introduced her kidlets to their very own library card and an assortment of books never before seen. Independent and pleasure reading tied neatly together in a book. My love for the printed word was born.

These books became sacred. As colorful and varied as any wide-eyed child could imagine, I was awed by the touch, smell and uncovered adventures that laid in wait. My early dreams of imagination and escape. Goodbye to Dick, Jane, Sally and Spot.

Throughout the school year, an hour or so was devoted to library time. Proper book etiquette and making protective jacket covers (using a paper bag) consumed us. And let us not forget becoming familiar with the card catalog and the Dewey Decimal System. It was there that I met and fell addictingly in like with “The Bobbsey Twins”, “The Boxcar Children”, and “Pippi Longstocking”. Their far-fetched adventures seemed so distant than my simple farm existence. I so longed to be a twin, pretend with a few sibs in a boxcar, or live crazy like Pippi. Secrets and comfort were just a tale away. 

Throughout senior high my pleasure reading waned but minimally suffered. Duties of the farm, home and academics took added priority. As an unlikely result, mandatory book reports took a survivalist turn to minimal and mindless effort.

It became common to check out a novel or two from the library. Familiarize with the front jacket, peruse pictures, read the first and last few chapters and begin to pen my thoughts. I’d compose my best report using perfect spelling and penmanship. Avoiding specific details, I easily gleaned low A’s and high B’s from my strategic plan. Good enough. 

College, marriage, teaching and motherhood continued to take priority over my efforts to read for enjoyment. Educational texts, Dr. Spock and Ladies Home Journal became my printed pleasures. My dreams of “take-me-away” had been sidelined. 

That all changed as daughter Jennifer entered her freshman year. She was given a list of classic novels to read before school commenced in September. Having an hour here and there, I took to reading “Native Son” by Richard Wright. This classic depicted the life of poverty and racial injustice. My desire to pleasure read had been rekindled. Once again, I was hooked. 

Since those early days of open eyes and mind, I have kept record of any and all reading undertaken. I have joined various book clubs, and subscriptions. Bookstores have a gentle likeness for me. There’s always an unfinished book on my nightstand. Endless time to imagine and escape. 

Some of my favorite reads include historical fiction, non-fiction and auto/biographies. Love, love, love taking my thoughts to another place and time. Relearning historical events seems effortless. Oh, and to read of the delights and struggles of another’s life… Nosy-Josy enjoys this as well! 

The following are a few of my favs:

Historical Fiction:  The Poisonwood Bible and Flight Behavior. Barbara Kingsolver. 

News of the World. Paulette Jiles. The Book Thief. Markus Zusak.

Non-Fiction:  Unbroken, Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit. Laura Hillenbrand.

Auto/Biographies:  Love, Lucy. Lucille Ball. Empty Without You: The Intimate Letters of Eleanor Roosevelt and Loren Hickok”. Edited by Rodger Streitmatter.

All in all, the benefits of reading are plenty. We engage mental stimulation, we relearn, and all the while, increase vocabulary and memory. Reading slips one’s stress away while enhancing tranquility. Least of all, reading is FREE! It’s one of the lowest budget forms of entertainment.

Crack a book. Get comfortable with a beverage, favored chair and hum of the fridge. Escape for just a little and take time to find yourself. Soothe your soul. The “Ahhhh” will find you. 

Lessons Learned:

Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body. J. Addison. Expand, replenish, revive. Reading has done that for me.

A good book is like a good friend. It will stay with you for the rest of your life. C. Lovett

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Finding the “Ahh”

Leave a comment